25 Before 25 · Recipes

#10. Try 25 New Recipes: Chicken Fajita Pasta

There are few thing I love more than cheese and Mexican food. Mixing those two together in a pasta made for a glorious dinner. I know with the new year a lot of people, myself included, are trying to get back on track with healthy eating so I will be upfront and suggest that you make this meal on a cheat night. I saw this recipe on one of those Tasty videos from Buzzfeed on my Facebook. I believe one of my friends shared it. Sending the sincerest thank you to whoever that kind soul was.

As I mentioned before in other recipes, I rarely follow the specific measurements when it comes to cooking. However, with this one, I tried to. However, I found at the end of cooking, it was just not flavorful enough and I threw in a little extra. My suggestion would be to follow the recipe and add according to your own taste preference at the end.

What you need:

  • 3 chicken breasts
  • 3 peppers (one green, one red and another either orange or yellow)
  • 1 onion
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 Tbsp. chili powder
  • 1 Tbsp. cumin
  • 1 Tbsp. garlic powder
  • 5 cups milk
  • 4 cups penne pasta
  • 1 cup pepper jack cheese, shredded

Prep:

  1. Slice up the chicken breasts, peppers and onion
  2. Mix together dry seasonings in a small bowl
  3. Shred the cheese

img_2338img_2341

Let’s get to cookin’:

  1. In a large pot heat up some oil and add the chicken, cooking until it is no longer pink. I am a freak when it comes to chicken so I tend to over cook it till its golden brown on the outside.
  2. Remove chicken an set aside for time being
  3. Add a little more oil to the pot and throw in your veggies, cooking until they’re on the softer side                             img_2336
  4. Add the chicken back in and add the seasoning, tossing to coat everything evenly
  5. Add the milk and penne, stirring  frequently to avoid the pasta from sticking
  6. Once pasta is fully cooked and the milk has created a thick sauce, add and mix cheese.img_2340
  7. Enjoy!

img_2344

Notes: Overall I loved this but as I stated before, it is definitely something to eat as cheat night considering all the cheese. When adding the cheese, I didn’t actually measure mine out, I just shredded and entire brick of the cheese and added it to the pot. Did I mention I like cheese? It heated up pretty well for the next couple of days, which was also a plus since the entire pot was too much for two in one sitting. Hope you enjoy!

2 thoughts on “#10. Try 25 New Recipes: Chicken Fajita Pasta

Leave a Reply

